Obituary of Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu


The former leader of the short lived republic of Biafra Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu died a few days ago at the age of 78. Here are obituaries written on him:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/nov/27/chukwuemeka-odumegwu-ojukwu

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/obituaries/politics-obituaries/8919033/Chukwuemeka-Ojukwu.html

http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/obituaries/odumegwu-ojukwu-78-rebel-leader-who-broke-republic-of-biafra-away-from-nigeria/2011/11/28/gIQAdVcHAO_story.html

10 responses

  1. Max, it is funny the way that Ibo guy pronounces coup with a “q”. I watched it yesterday shortly after it was uploaded and I just couldn’t help laughing so hard whenever the man said quop. At least he knew the “p” was silent. By the way did you guys read Brigadier John Shagaya’s honest take on Ojukwu’s attempt to secede. The guy justified Ojukwu’s actions and insinuted that even he would have done the same to protect his own people at a time like that. I have personally felt the same a long time ago. The Ibo were facing imminent extermination in Nigeria along with Eastern minorities who togather were known as “yanmiri” and Ojukwu stepped up to the defence of the region. Can’t fault a guy for doing what he did.Here is a link to Brigadier-General John Shagaya’s comment;
    http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-814135.0.html

  2. prince patrik chinomso .O. | Reply

    ojukwu tried but neva had concrete and serious plans 4 d ibo b/4 dat civil war,besides comin back 2 ask 4 his right in d army is a betrayer 2 ibo soldiers who joined force wit biafara even later wanted 2 be d president.my dear am an Ibo man bt A king maker can neva my a king ,so Ojukwu contributed 2 Ibos problem 2day in d country.thank u

    1. Mr. Ekuson Debango | Reply

      PRINCE,DR,CHIEF CHINOMSO: I think you are a bit neutrotic with your analysis of events and I take it you were born much later after the fact. There are a ton of materials to educate an idiot numbskull like you as to what really happened. The one fact you have to remember is that there was no reason for the rest of the murderous Nigerian populace to extract retribution in such a brazen manner by slaughtering people who had no clue why they were being killed. You claim to be Ibo and that just is fine. I am a half-Ibo on my maternal side and I know for sure you are quite wrong in the head. Most people in your sorry state of mind do better with a lot of psychiatric intervention or else the consequence will be terminal.I have things to say to you but out of respect for everyone else I’d prefer to engage your sorry putrid arse via e-mail. Hit me at ekusond@gmail.com and I promise your very last days on the net are right before you. Mind you I am neither a prince nor am I princely by any stretch of the imagination. I do not even possess the most elementary college degree like most of you too-good-at-nothing fools who will never impress me with the kind of worthless diplomas you brandish.

    2. MR. EKUSON DEBANGO | Reply

      PRINCE CHINOMSO.OLE: PLEASE WRITE ME DIRECTLY WITHOUT RESORTING TO DISHONESTY. I HAVE A FEW CHOICE WORDS TO SAY TO YOU. I REALLY WANT TO EDUCATE YOU THE WAY THINGS OUGHT TO BE. I SEE YOU NOW SUDDENLY DEVELOPED COLD FEET AT THE PROSPECT OF JUST VIRTUAL SHOWDOWN. HOW COWARDLY CAN IT BE. MIND YOU ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS TO COMMUNICATE WITH ME WHILE STILL ENSCONCED BEHIND THE SECURED COMFORT OF YOUR COMPUTER. HOW DIFFICULT IS THAT?

    3. MR. EKUSON DEBANGO | Reply

      Truly your silence is causing me grave concern. Just send me an e-mail and we’ll take it from there.Please, I’m begging you in the name of the one and only Almighty to drop me a line soon. This is going to be a harmly exercise and you have my word. Gonna be a lot more civil than you think.I do not suffer an imperious ingrate when I chance upon one. I am waiting to hear from you.God bless you tremedously.

    4. CHINOMSO:Did you really write this at the following website? http://ghanaian-chronicle.com/features/chukwuemeka-odumegwu-ojukwu-1933-2011/

      chinonso
      December 8, 2011 – 1:42 pm
      FAREWELL DIM IKEMBA GENERAL CHUKWUEMEKA ODUMEGWU OJUKWU. THE TRUE HERO AND THE LION OF BIAFRA. ADIEU.
      BRAVE, INTELLECT AND TRUE NWA AFOR IGBO

      AND THIS:

      nonso mbagwu
      December 7, 2011 – 4:21 pm
      he was truely n will always b d igbo’s hero.a hero dt can never b seen in africa never again.i wud miss him 4eva.i was born in d 80′s,but after going tru alot of books,i acknowledged his personality.he is my mentor n a true igbo representative.

      Now I just caught you with your pants down and your forked tongue will sure as hell get you in hot water. I am still in the early stages of sneaking up on you. I never forget.

  3. The greatest Nigerian and the most respected educationist, military officer, fighter for the oppressed and the best president Africa never had. Honorable general President Odumegwu Ojukwu have passed away but his legacy will only be the light of Africa.

    Until his legacy is adopted Nigeria will continue to be a failled state. A man of vision who came as an Ibo man. Thank you and may Almighty God accepts your noble soul in Jesus Christ name amen.

    Signed Preacher Dan

  4. Prince patrik chinomso: To start with i am not sure you are true son of the soil – Igbo race. I presumed you claim to be an Igbo man, which you are not.

    Please don’t ever make this kind of silly mistake of yours by making a degrading comment against a noble man like Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu. This man was the1st President of great Republic of Biafra. He was the mouthpiece of the poor, the oppressed Igbo nation. Ojukwu was not a god but his names alone usually cause pandemonium in the enemies’ camp. Maybe you were born after the Nigerian/Biafran civil war like me; you could do well by reading undiluted history of the pre and post civil war in Nigeria. Just analyse Dim Ojukwu tributes even from his enemies, you will agree with me that he was RIGHT in that war No one invective Dim Ojukwu in the presence of a true son of Igbo man and go scourge free even at his death. He sacrificed his entire life for his people from a tender age till death. Insulting or accusing a guiltless man like Ojukwu is tantamount to slighting the Igbo nation- his people. As far as I am concern Dim Ojukwu was the beast president in Africa.
    Please let me not hear you make such a comment against African most respected leader! A word is enough for the wise! (papankeukwu@yahoo.com).

    1. PAPANKEUKWU:YOU SAID THE FOLLOWING:
      As far as I am concern Dim Ojukwu was the beast president in Africa.
      >>I take it you meant to say the “BEST” president instead. That clearly was a typo, wasn’t it?

      1. Thanks for calling my attention to that typographical error “Beast|”.

        I meant Dim Ojukwu was the best President in Africa.

        Once again, thank you.

        Papankeukwu

Leave a Reply

